• Quickly message a group of people – no need to address the message just post it in to the appropriate Teams Channel. Need to get a specific persons attention? @mention them in your Teams post by using an @ then their name
  • Files are stored centrally in the team – Don’t share business critical files as email attachments or from OneDrive where they can be difficult to find in the future. Files posted in Teams Channels are automatically stored in the team for future reference, even if the person that posted them has left the organisation.
  • New colleagues added to the team can see previous messages and files This makes onboarding colleagues to existing departments or projects much easier than if Outlook had been used for communications.
  • A colleague is away from work unexpectedly and in Outlook you are getting their Out Of Office? No problem, if you have been using a Teams Channel to share messages other people in that team will be able to see the messages and continue to work. Teams messages are more visible than 1:1 email conversations.
  • You can leave a team that is no longer relevant to you – you will no longer see the posts and files stored in the team If you had been receiving the communications via Outlook you would need to carefully work your way through your Inbox\folders deleting emails that are no longer relevant to you.

To leave a team, next to the team name click the … then click Leave the team